Qui sommes-nous ?

|Nous croyons que les mères peuvent provoquer le changement au sein de leurs familles et de leurs communautés.

1. Nous sommes un organisme national situé à Vancouver, en C.-B.

Le Centre Mothers Matter — connu auparavant sous le nom de Home Instruction Program for Parents of Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY) Canada — est un organisme de charité enregistré à but non lucratif, constitué en société en octobre 2001. Nous sommes un regroupement national virtuel d’organismes consacrés au service des mères socialement isolées et de faible statut économique et de leurs familles.

2. Notre approche de mère à mère est unique

Nous travaillons avec les mères isolées chez elle, dans leur foyer, afin de les mettre en contact avec d’autres mères dans leurs communautés qui connaissent, pour les avoir aussi vécus, les défis et problèmes auxquels elles sont confrontées. Depuis nos débuts, le Centre Mothers Matter a touché plus de 40 000 vies. Nous avons aidé plus de 14 000 mères à acquérir les compétences et les habiletés nécessaires pour renforcer les liens mère-enfant. Leurs enfants et leurs familles se trouvent donc mieux préparées pour tirer le maximum des premières expériences scolaires.

3. Nos programmes visent à rompre le cycle intergénérationnel de la pauvreté, du faible taux de littératie et de l’isolement social

Notre programme de base, Instruction à domicile pour parents d’enfants d’âge préscolaire (HIPPY), est mis à l’essai au Britannia Community Service Centre à Vancouver, en C.-B., en 2000. Depuis, il a été implanté dans 25 sites partout au Canada, et chaque site contribue au bien-être de 35 à 100 familles chaque année.

Lisons, parlons, jouons est un programme de littératie précoce d’une durée de 12 semaines. Il s’adresse aux familles à faible revenu et défavorisées, qui ne peuvent s’engager à long terme au curriculum du programme HIPPY ordinaire.

Le Adoptez un lecteur est une campagne de trois semaines qui invite les familles HIPPY à « adopter » des parents de leurs communautés afin de leur présenter des activités centrées sur l’attachement parent-enfant par le biais de la lecture.

Nos Innovations pour les nouveaux arrivants aident des familles immigrantes à s’établir dans la société canadienne. Le Centre Mothers Matter et ses partenaires effectuent des recherches, conçoivent, testent et évaluent la faisabilité d’innovations sociales pour assurer le bien-être, la dignité et les liens sociaux des mères vulnérables à haut risque.

4. Nous nous engageons à surveiller et à améliorer les programmes de manière continue

Nous sommes engagés à mettre en place un processus de gestion du rendement (PGR) complet responsable devant ses parties prenantes, ses bailleurs de fonds et, surtout, les familles qu’il sert. Ce processus nous fournit, en temps réel, les données nécessaires pour ajuster et améliorer les stratégies de programmation. L’approche de gestion du rendement aide le CMM et ses partenaires à mesurer et à comprendre le processus de changement.

Nos trois piliers du changement

Des mères à risque, autrefois isolées, acquièrent les connaissances et les capacités nécessaires pour prendre le contrôle de leur vie et devenir des parents efficaces et des citoyennes engagées. Le travail du Centre Mothers Matter repose sur trois piliers du changement :

Adapter une initiative sociale de grande envergure, durable et fondée sur des preuves, appelée le Centre Mothers Matter.

Inspirer le changement social en innovant, en mettant en œuvre et en appuyant des programmes fondés sur des données probantes, en collaboration avec des communautés canadiennes qui sont motivées à soutenir la pleine intégration des mères isolées et de leurs familles. Les activités Inspirer comprendront les programmes HIPPY autochtone et multiculturel, la formation professionnelle et les innovations en matière de programmes.

Mener le Canada dans le mouvement pour l’inclusion sociale et économique des femmes isolées grâce à la recherche, au partage des connaissances et à la défense des droits de la personne. Notre travail sera toujours basé sur la recherche, et nous veillerons à continuellement surveiller et améliorer le programme. Nous sommes engagés à respecter des normes de gestion du rendement de haute qualité, à procéder à une évaluation externe et à partager nos connaissances.

Notre Personnel

Les langues suivantes sont parlées au Centre Mothers Matter : arabe, anglais, français, allemand, gujarati, hindi, pendjabi, espagnol et ourdou.

Debbie Bell

Chief Executive Officer / President

Jason Chabot

Vice President of Operations

Susanne Nahm

Senior Director, Performance Management & Evaluation

Wazi Dlamini-Kapenda

Senior Director of Multicultural Programs

Natasha Vattikonda

Manager of Research and Advocacy

Fatima Al-Samak

Director of Professional Development Program

Yusra Qadir

Directrice, innovations, actions politiques et HIPPY multiculturel

Monique Best

Directrice des programmes en français

Reem Abdulkader

Director of Multicultural HIPPY

Cynthia Alves

Project Manager of HIPPY Program in French

Angela Contreras

Senior Policy Advisor to Indigenous HIPPY

Amy Zhou

Project Coordinator

Marija Robinson

Coordinator of Multicultural Programming

Audrey Bourassa-Tait

Communication Coordinator

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram
+ +
FR
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram

Who We Are

|We believe that mothers are the catalyst for change within their families and communities.

1. We are a national organization housed in Vancouver, BC

The Mothers Matter Centre — previously known as the Home Instruction Program for Parents of Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY) Canada — is a not-for-profit, registered charity incorporated in October 2001. We are a virtual, national consortium of organizations dedicated to serving socially isolated and low economic status mothers and their families.

2. Our mother-to-mother approach is unique

We work with isolated mothers where they live – at home – connecting them with other mothers in their communities who share an intimate awareness of the issues and challenges they face. Since our inception, the Mothers Matter Centre has transformed over 40,000 lives. We helped more than 14,000 mothers gain new skills and abilities essential to strengthening mother-child relationships. This means their children and families were better prepared to get the most from their early school experiences.

3. Our programs are designed to break the intergenerational cycle of poverty, low literacy, and social isolation

Our foundational program, Home Instruction for Parents of Preschool Youngsters (HIPPY), was piloted in 2000 at the Britannia Community Service Centre in Vancouver, BC, HIPPY. Since then, it has grown to 25 sites across Canada each of which helps 35 – 100 families each year.

Bond to Literacy is a 12-week early literacy program adapted from the HIPPY program for low-income, disadvantaged families who struggle with issues that may prevent them from making a long-term commitment.

The Adopt-a-Reader campaign provides an opportunity for HIPPY families to “adopt” other parents in their community for a three-week campaign that focuses on parent-child bonding through reading.

Our Newcomer Innovations are designed to help immigrant families settle into Canadian society. The Mothers Matter Centre and its partners’ research, design, test and evaluate the feasibility of social innovations to ensure the well-being, dignity, and social connections of high-risk vulnerable mothers.

4. We are committed to continuous program monitoring and refinement

We are committed to a comprehensive performance management process (PMP) that holds itself accountable to its stakeholders, funders and, most importantly, to the families it serves. This process gives us real-time data needed to adjust programming strategies to better serve clients. The performance management approach helps us and our partners measure and understand the process of change.

Our Three Pillars of Change

Once isolated, at-risk mothers develop the knowledge and capacity they need to take control of their lives and become effective parents and engaged citizens. The work of the Mothers Matter Centre is consolidated in three pillars of change:

Scale a high-profile, sustainable, evidence-based social initiative called the Mothers Matter Centre.

Inspire social change by innovating, implementing, and supporting evidence-based programs in collaboration with Canadian communities that are motivated to support full inclusion of isolated mothers and their families. Inspire activities will include Aboriginal and Multicultural HIPPY, professional education and program innovations.

Lead Canada in a movement for the social and economic inclusion of isolated women with research, knowledge-sharing and advocacy. Our work will continue to be research-based, with continuous program monitoring and refinement. We are committed to high-quality performance management standards, external evaluation and sharing of knowledge.

Our Staff

Languages spoken at the Mothers Matter Centre: Arabic, English, French, German, Gujrathi, Hindi, Punjabi, Spanish

Debbie Bell

Chief Executive Officer / President

Jason Chabot

Vice President of Operations

Susanne Nahm

Performance Management & Evaluation Director

Wazi Dlamini-Kapenda

Director of Multicultural Programs

Michelle Aslan

National Director of Training & Education

Natasha Jeffreys

Manager of Research and Advocacy

Georgia Pyle

Communications and Fundraising Coordinator

Fatima Al-Samak

Program Manager in the Office of the CEO

Senior Policy Advisor to Indigenous HIPPY

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
Facebook
Facebook
Instagram